Thundercat – The Beyond/Where The Giants Roam

Earlier in the week Thundercat surprised us by releasing a new mini-album titled The Beyond/Where the Giants Roam. The album is pretty short with only six songs of jazz fusion with a similar sound to his previous releases The Golden Age of Apocalypse and Apocalypse. The only difference is the missing elements of funk and soul that were a big part of the previous releases. The exception is Them Changes which I love and samples the drums from The Isley Brothers’ Footsteps in the Dark.

The album was co-produced by Flying Lotus and features the legendary Herbie Hancock, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Kamasi Washington and Mono/Poly. Stream Them Changes below and head to iTunes to purchase.

Thundercat – Them Changes

Illa J – Universe

Illa J has been steadily growing over the years and deserves to be known as more than just “J Dilla’s younger brother” in my opinion – he’s an artist in his own right. And right now he’s getting ready to release a new album that will be entirely produced by Canada’s Potatohead People (AstroLogical and Nick Wisdom). We’ve been listening to and supporting these guys for a while now simply because they constantly release quality music.

Universe is the latest single after the impressive first single Strippers was released a couple of months back. After hearing these first two tracks I’m eagerly awaiting this release. Hopefully we get another single before the album drops in October on Bastard Jazz.

Illa J – Universe

Juxtpose – Technometry (Opolopo Remix)

Melbourne guitarist and producer Juxtpose has just released a new single through Heard and Felt. As the name suggests, Technometry is a techno track and while it’s not quite our cup of tea, the remix by Opolopo is banging as his tracks so often are. The release also features a remix from Christian Vance and another slightly housier track from Juxtpose and is out now on vinyl and digital.

Juxtpose – Technometry (Opolopo Remix – Cassingle Edit)

Natasha Alexander – Black Bodies

We first learnt about Natasha Alexander when she reached out to us about her debut EP Super. The EP was a short but sweet release featuring Natasha’s soulful vocals over beats from the likes of Flying Lotus, Madlib and 9th Wonder and it left us quite impressed.

Her most recent release is a powerful song titled Black Bodies that she created in response to the recent shootings of African Americans by police officers around the US and the lack of prosecution of the officers involved. Listen below, get a free download and share it around to help spread this important message.

Natasha Alexander – Black Bodies

Nicolay – City Lights Vol. 3: Soweto

Earlier in the week Nicolay released the third volume of his City Lights series, this one a tribute to Soweto in Johannesburg, South Africa. We already gave you the details when we posted the first single The Brightest Star a couple of weeks back. What we didn’t realise then was that the bulk of the songs on the album are dance tunes, giving City Lights Vol. 3 a similar energy provided by some of the more uptempo songs from the Foreign Exchange’s latest album Love in Flying Colors. The album isn’t my favourite from his growing collection of releases but there are still some nice tracks on here that make it worth checking out. Head to iTunes for the purchase.

Nicolay – Sawubona

The Internet – Special Affair

Los Angeles band The Internet’s 2013 album Feel Good still gets played regularly at the Super Superb HQ and now we have another track to bump as they’ve just dropped a fresh new single called Special Affair. Hopefully this is the first single from an upcoming album. We’ll keep you posted.

Nicolay – The Brightest Star/Afterglow

It’s always a good thing when Nicolay releases new music and he’s about to release a whole new album of it. City Lights Vol. 3: Soweto is an ode to the South African township and it’s neighbouring city of Johannesburg and is dropping on June 9.

The first single The Brightest Star which features vocals from Carmen Rodgers and Phonte, is an energetic jam that will have you immediately reaching for your dancing shoes. The B-Side, Afterglow is a non-album bonus single and is a more mellow affair but also well worth a listen. This one also features Phonte as well as vocals from Tamisha Waden and Tim Smith on flute. Both songs are available on iTunes now.

Nicolay – The Brightest Star

Beats O Freen – The Duke

Darker than Wax have just announced a new EP from Dutch producer Beats O Freen titled Dimensions, and have released a three-track teaser to give us a little taste of what’s to come. I’m really feeling the first track The Duke – take a listen below. The EP will be out on June 26 but you can get a free download of the teaser here.

Beats O Freen – The Duke

Hiatus Kaiyote – Choose Your Weapon

This is an album I’ve been excited about for a long time. Hiatus Kaiyote’s Choose Your Weapon is finally out and it’s an amazing album. I’ve been a fan of these guys since their early days and still listen to Tawk Tomahawk regularly. The only problem I’ve ever had with their debut release is that it’s too short and always leaves me wanting more. That’s no longer a problem with the new album providing 18 fresh new gems.

The Melbourne crew have constantly been progressing over the past few years and Choose Your Weapon is proof of that. The album is packed with beautifully crafted songs as well as a few short instrumental jams and is an incredibly cohesive and impressive album. Nai Palm’s beautiful vocals are as amazing as ever but props also need to go to the rest of the band. Paul Bender is an outstanding bass player, Simon Mavin is a master on the keys, and Perrin Moss’ drumming is a big reason that their sound is so appealing to me (be sure to check Perrin’s side project Clever Austin).

The album is out now. Support here.

Hiatus Kaiyote – Swamp Thing