2015’s Finest

2015 was an incredible year for me as I spent most of it travelling. Unfortunately that meant I was unable to update the blog as much as I would have liked. Nevertheless I was still fortunate enough to hear a lot of good new music, so as with previous years we have a mix of some of our favourite songs from the year. Special thanks to Oakley Grenell for putting this together.

We’ll hopefully have more great music to share with you in 2016. Happy holidays!

01 The Internet – Girl
02 Thundercat – Them Changes
03 Ta-ku – Sunrise feat. Jordan Rakei
04 Blended Babies – Make it work
05 MUNDU x R-kay – So Much Wilhelm Screams
06 Onra – We Ridin’
07 Hiatus Kaiyote – Swamp Thing
08 Electric Wire Hustle – Brother Sun
09 MED, Blu & Madlib – The Strip
10 Oddisee Belong To The World
11 Illa J – Universe
12 Kendrick Lamar – These Walls feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Thundercat

Darker Than Wax – 30K Compilation

Our favourite Singapore-based label Darker Than Wax recently reached a new milestone of having 30K followers on Soundcloud and to celebrate they’ve released another great compilation which they’re giving away as a free download.

These guys have been steadily building their fanbase and reputation over the years by consistently releasing quality music. If you haven’t heard of them before, this release is a great way to get acquainted. After that I suggest you head to their Bandcamp page to hear more. You can grab a copy of 30K here.

Jasper Staal – Feet Don’t Fail Me Now

Teeko – Love Like This

Today we have something new from Teeko, one of our favourite musicians out of San Francisco. This song came from a live Mugpush jam session recording at Windy Hill studios. The improvised vocal track by Devaun Bantu was given to Teeko as he expressed that he had an idea for it. He then imported the vocals to his turntable where he started to chop up all the vocal parts he liked from various sections of the jam, placing them as he felt the song start to arrange itself. Later he brought in the lush vocals of Sonya Distel.

Teeko is sharing this as a free download at the newly launched Explore.fm, a new site where verified artists can upload music to share with the world all for free and as a fan, you can choose to support artists directly. There isn’t a ton of music on the site yet but there’s definitely some quality stuff and from what I’ve seen it looks like a much better alternative to the likes of Spotify who are notorious for paying artists next-to-nothing.

Teeko – Love Like This feat. Devaun Bantu & Sonya Distel

Beats O Freen – The Duke

Darker than Wax have just announced a new EP from Dutch producer Beats O Freen titled Dimensions, and have released a three-track teaser to give us a little taste of what’s to come. I’m really feeling the first track The Duke – take a listen below. The EP will be out on June 26 but you can get a free download of the teaser here.

Beats O Freen – The Duke

Columbia Nights – My Groove feat. SassyBlack

It’s been a while since we last heard from Washington D.C. based production crew Columbia Nights but good things take time I guess. The trio recently released this little gem My Groove featuring vocals from SassyBlack of THEESatisfaction. Loving the bass and percussion on this one and just about everything else for that matter.

Now these guys will have a full length album for us some time this year but they need a little help to get it pressed on vinyl so they’re running a Kickstarter campaign. Head there to help this talented crew out and make sure you pick up a free download of My Groove in the meantime from their Soundcloud page.

Columbia Nights – My Groove (feat. SassyBlack)

2014’s Finest

We’re just a few days away from the new year so once again we’ve gone back through the all of great music from the past year and selected a few releases that we enjoyed the most.

Enjoy this mix featuring some of our favourite songs from 2014 and peep the list below of our picks for the best releases (in no particular order) from the year. Thanks again for all the support. We look forward to bringing you more good music in 2015!

Darker Than Wax – 10K

Our favourite label in Singapore, Darker than Wax recently reached a milestone of getting 10,000 Facebook fans and to celebrate have released this compilation full of new material from almost their entire roster. Expect to hear a mix of modern soul, funk, hip hop and electronic tunes on here from a bunch of artists you may have never heard of before. We suggest you grab a free download because there’s a lot of quality music on this one!

Stussy x Soulection Compilation

Soulection has teamed up with Stussy to release another compilation filled with with the kind of bangers this label is getting a reputation for constantly putting out. The release features Soulection regulars including the likes of IAMNOBODI, Esta, Mr Carmack, Evil Needle, Sango, and Ta-ku as well as a host of other talented artists. It’s available now on Bandcamp for however much you feel like paying.

Astrological – Morning Sunrise Refix

I just spotted this on soundcloud and had to post it up. I’m quite a fan of Weldon Irvine and this refix of Morning Sunrise from AstroLogical is banging! It’s available as a free download too so make sure you grab a copy. And while you’re at it, take a listen to some his other tunes because there’s plenty of goodness coming out of this guy’s studio including his work with fellow Canadian producer Nick Wisdom as Potatohead People.