Electric Wire Hustle – Brother Sun feat. Kimbra

Here’s a collaboration I wasn’t expecting. One of our favourite New Zealand bands, Electric Wire Hustle have teamed up with fellow Kiwi Kimbra for their latest single and it turns out they make a good team. Brother Sun is the first single from the forthcoming Electric Wire Hustle Aeons EP out August 28 on Bastard Jazz. And some extra good news is that they’re expecting to put a new album out early next year. The single is available now on iTunes.

Ta-ku – Songs To Make Up To

In case you missed it, one of Australia’s more popular producers, Ta-ku put this release out last month. I was meaning to post something about it at the time but somehow it got lost. Songs To Make Up To is the follow up to his 2013 release Songs To Break Up To and features guest appearances from JMSN & Sango, Atu, Jordan Rakei, Sunni Colón and Alina Baraz.

I thought the song Sunrise / Beautiful – which is kind of two songs in one – featuring one of our favourite artists at the moment, Jordan Rakei was a good enough reason to get this post up even if it is a month late. It’s not the only good song on the album either. Ta-ku has been honing his production skills and it’s evident on this release. Hopefully we hear more from him soon.

Vinyl copies appear to be sold out but you can get a digital version of the album here.

Sunrise / Beautiful feat. Jordan Rakei

Potatohead People – All The Way

Canadian duo Potatohead People have been consistently putting out quality music for a few years now. Earlier in the year they released Big Luxury, an album filled with crackin’ beats and a host of quality vocalists. Now they’ve just released Big Luxury Instrumentals, Remixes & B​-​Sides which includes this jam that was left off the album.

Sit back and enjoy some more good music from two of Canada’s finest and head to Bandcamp for the whole release.

Finale – The Revival

We’ve taken a bit of time off from posting lately to focus on other things so it seems fitting that our first post in some time is from an artist who has also taken a lot of time off to focus on other aspects of his life.

When Finale released his Pipe Dream & A Promise album back in 2009 we were instant fans and eagerly awaited more music from him. We’ve been waiting for over five years now and were starting to wonder if we’d ever get anything new from the Detroit MC. It turns out he just took a little time off to start a family and live his life. Fair enough.

The good news is that in two weeks we’re finally going to have a new album through Mello Music Group entirely produced by Oddisee. The Revival is the first single which features long time collaborator Invincible and Pierre Anthony. You might recognise the beat as Oddisee’s Juba May from his Odd Spring release. Hopefully there’s some original material on the album too. Get yourself a free download and get ready for Odds & Ends on August 14.

The Revival (feat. Invincible & Pierre Anthony)

Saoul – I Found Your Letter

I first discovered Saoul when I heard The Noire, a group he formed with another artist named Deshon Thrower. The duo released a great single titled Fire to the Flame back in 2012 and followed it up with an EP last year.

Saoul was born in Romania but moved to Germany at an early age where he learned to play an absurd number of instruments by the time he had reached his mid-teens. He’s now based in the US and recently released an album titled Bedtime Stories. I Found Your Letter didn’t make an appearance on the album but has just been released as a B-Side to the single Sexy LoVe.

Saoul – I Found Your Letter

Thundercat – The Beyond/Where The Giants Roam

Earlier in the week Thundercat surprised us by releasing a new mini-album titled The Beyond/Where the Giants Roam. The album is pretty short with only six songs of jazz fusion with a similar sound to his previous releases The Golden Age of Apocalypse and Apocalypse. The only difference is the missing elements of funk and soul that were a big part of the previous releases. The exception is Them Changes which I love and samples the drums from The Isley Brothers’ Footsteps in the Dark.

The album was co-produced by Flying Lotus and features the legendary Herbie Hancock, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Kamasi Washington and Mono/Poly. Stream Them Changes below and head to iTunes to purchase.

Thundercat – Them Changes

Illa J – Universe

Illa J has been steadily growing over the years and deserves to be known as more than just “J Dilla’s younger brother” in my opinion – he’s an artist in his own right. And right now he’s getting ready to release a new album that will be entirely produced by Canada’s Potatohead People (AstroLogical and Nick Wisdom). We’ve been listening to and supporting these guys for a while now simply because they constantly release quality music.

Universe is the latest single after the impressive first single Strippers was released a couple of months back. After hearing these first two tracks I’m eagerly awaiting this release. Hopefully we get another single before the album drops in October on Bastard Jazz.

Illa J – Universe

Juxtpose – Technometry (Opolopo Remix)

Melbourne guitarist and producer Juxtpose has just released a new single through Heard and Felt. As the name suggests, Technometry is a techno track and while it’s not quite our cup of tea, the remix by Opolopo is banging as his tracks so often are. The release also features a remix from Christian Vance and another slightly housier track from Juxtpose and is out now on vinyl and digital.

Juxtpose – Technometry (Opolopo Remix – Cassingle Edit)

Natasha Alexander – Black Bodies

We first learnt about Natasha Alexander when she reached out to us about her debut EP Super. The EP was a short but sweet release featuring Natasha’s soulful vocals over beats from the likes of Flying Lotus, Madlib and 9th Wonder and it left us quite impressed.

Her most recent release is a powerful song titled Black Bodies that she created in response to the recent shootings of African Americans by police officers around the US and the lack of prosecution of the officers involved. Listen below, get a free download and share it around to help spread this important message.

Natasha Alexander – Black Bodies